Universal (automatic) sharing out of patient records
The decision has been made for patient’s records to be automatically shared out of SystmOne. This means that colleagues within other SystmOne units, when asking a patient if they are happy for them to look at their shared record, will be able to do so if the patient agrees.
Patients need to know that we will share their patient record unless they tell us not to. Patients must be given the opportunity to change their mind and tell us that they no longer wish for their record to be shared.
Staff must still have a conversation with patients about the sharing of their records. There will no longer be a sharing prompt/pop up box to complete but if the patient advises that they do not wish for their record to be shared their decision must be recorded.
This poster has been displayed in patient areas across all DCHS sites and refers to the Universal (automatic) sharing out of patient records. If a patient asks what this means you must be able to explain to them as above.
Universal (automatic) sharing out of records will be turned on the week commencing 6 January 2019. Any decisions made by patients, and recorded on SystmOne before this date, to not share their record will still stand.
If there are any queries or issues please contact the Information Governance Team at: email@example.com